When children are emotionally abused in public

Mischief

Forum Legend
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Other
Today I was at Aldi, and the person two in front of me in the checkout lane was a woman, white, very obese and using one of the store's electric scooters. She had two boys with her. I'm not good at guessing ages, but somewhere between 8 and 12. They looked Hispanic. I don't have any idea whether they were her kids, other members of her family, or even foster children.

What I do know is that she was haranguing them meanly and loudly the entire time. They had two carts of groceries, and she had them loading the groceries on the conveyor, and then later, bagging them at the counter at the front of the store, all the while saying, "Can't you do anything right?!" "I'm sick and tired of having to feed everyone!" " how stupid are you?! " and on and on.

She was still at it by the time I was checked out and left the store. Neither of the boys said anything the whole time. They just looked completely beaten down. I wanted to go over and tell her that what she was doing was causing permanent damage to these children, but I was afraid of making things even worse for them.

I'm still sick about it, and still second guessing what I should have done. This was by far the worst treatment of children I have ever seen in public.

Thoughts? Ideas?

Ah, the many ways that humans are cruel to each other. I wonder though, if cruelty to children in general is becoming less prevalent, at least in western society? It seems like it's more frowned upon, that there is a bit more awareness.