Simple recipes and a balanced diet?

Molly

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hey guys!

I'm new to veganism in that I have only just started eating entirely vegan a few days ago. I did however, cut out eating boiled/scrambled/fried/etc. eggs a long time ago, as well as drinking cows milk. I was still consuming dairy products as an ingredient in other foods though. This was, I guess, the start of my transition.

I have been vegetarian my entire life, which is almost 20 years of never eating meat! (something I am proud of!)
But as someone who truly and deeply loves animals, when I learnt that veganism existed I was desperate to make the full transition.

ANYWAY, long story short:

I tried going vegan just over a year ago and really struggled with cravings and being hungry, so eventually caved. (this was obviously due to me not doing enough research on foods I could eat).

Now here I am, with even more will-power to make the change. BUT, when searching through YouTube and checking out other people's meal plans and recipes, I've been finding that so many of the meals seem so time-consuming, extravagant and... faffy? Of course I am willing to put time in but I seem to be a rather picky-eater. I do like a decent amount of veg and I LOVE fruit but everything I see people making just seems very... I don't know, exotic? Haha.

I'm aware I need to broaden my horizons when it comes to food if I want to eat a healthy, balanced vegan diet. So any suggestions on foods/recipes I could check out would be great!

Also, I have been putting my food diary into a site online that counts the carbs, proteins, fats etc. that you're eating and mine was greatly carbohydrates!! :( Any tips on cutting down on those? I've seen some great recipes involving pasta and potatoes, wish I could just live on those!

Again, links, recipes, recommendations and advice would be great!

Best,

An utter vegan newbie

More snacks - fruit and nuts.