What is my malfunction? Why is this so hard for me?

SquarePeg

Newcomer
Reaction score
My middle name should be changed from Lorraine to "Queen of Cognitive Dissonance!"

I swear that I am by far the worst vegetarian wannabe ever created.

I know why I don't want to eat meat. I've seen Peaceable Kingdom. I've watched Vegucated. I've watched Forks Over Knives. I'm a freaking nursing student. I get the health aspects and benefits of vegetarianism. I know what happens on factory farms. I see the evidence of it every day as the county directly to my south (which I drive through numerous times every week) is one of the largest poultry producers in the U.S. I see thousands of sick, scared, sadly abused chickens on flatbed trucks every month.

And still . . . I have not successfully transitioned to a plant based diet and had it last for any length of time.

Of course there are the usual excuses . . . and some of them are even true. I live in a rural area in Alabama where being a vegetarian is more difficult than it may be in some other areas. I live in the Deep South where cooking vegetables with some form of animal product is the norm (from pork fat to butter to cheese). I live in an area where people, by and large, are pretty hostile toward vegetarianism.

All of that is true. All of that does add a bit to the complications of being vegetarian in a decidedly omnivorous community.

My biggest problem seems to be that I am lazy as f*ck.

My kitchen is a mess. I hate menu planning and cooking. I'm not home as much as I'd like and my daughter now has school and a job so I'm often eating alone and I hate cooking for one. Which means eating out - and as I've already mentioned that is not a veg-friendly proposition where I live.

So I continuously cave to the convenience of eating just like everyone else. That leads me to feeling like a failure and that in turn leads me to feel like there's no point in continuing to even try.