The Struggle is Meal

Strugglepuss

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
New here, don't mind the name, it's what came to mind when pressed to come up with one (if you're old enough, you'll remember a bit of a hedonistic cartoon cougar named snagglepuss). It fits my dilemma of continuously trying and failing to stay high on plants, mostly, I think, for two reasons: One, I struggle with limitations, aka discipline. I want to consume everything.

I know a vegan diet isn't limited (or doesn't have to be), but, frankly, I'm a ridiculously incompetent cook who struggles to say no when out on the town, or just out of the house (any vegan psychologists in the house? If so, put me on your couch and go to work). Two, probably due to those hedonistic issues, my innards are about as healthy as a war-ravaged town. Thus, whether I like it or not, I have limitations.

For instance, I recently whipped up a loaf of zucchini bread and two loaves of banana bread, made with maple syrup, sans oil, and all whole foods. My last attempt at banana bread resulted in banana soup, but this time all three loaves miraculously popped out as models of perfection. So I ate them - no, not all 3 at once - but I probably ate too much, and felt like hell, as if I'd swallowed a large bag of cement.