Periods, stress, health, unsupportive family

Angeliki

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegetarian
I impulsively became a member of this forum, because this is the 3rd time I am giving veganism a try and this time I want to do it right. Take it slow, but steady. I need your help.

Sooo, where do I begin...
I tried veganism 2 years ago (I was already 1 year vegetarian) while I was a postgraduate Masters student and I had a very stressful daily routine. I used to wake up at 6 in the morning, did Ashtanga yoga for 1.5 hours (3 times a week, very athletic type of yoga), go to the lab, do experiments (not eat anything, apart from some dates with almonds) and come back home at 6 PM. Then I would begin to eat my breakfast, lunch, dinner all at once and go to sleep by 8 PM. As you can imagine, my physical and mental health went out of whack. I lost my period (which was irregular in the first place), lost 3 kg (I was already on the lower BMI for my height/age) and I felt constantly lethargic, miserable and tense. My parents (I was 24 then) got very worried and they blamed it all on the vegan diet. My blood results showed that I had (surprise surprise!) low iron and below normal cholesterol levels, which partly explained why I had lost my period. Adding my stressful daily routine, it was obvious that my physical health would deteriorate as well.
I decided to go back to being vegetarian for 6 months and my period came back, although it coincided with the fact that I was doing less lab work and more studying at home, so a lot of that stress was gone. My gynaecologist is also against plant-based diets for women and supports the idea that it caused my missed periods.