Is a vegan diet mostly carbs?

zki

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegetarian
I ask because aside from healthy fats & vegs. the legumes - the whole grains and fruits contain carbs. I'm not an expert or dietician, I'm just curious how vegans see the
the carb part of their diet... I've also seen info. that even suggests that there are even low carb & high carb fruits & vegetables like corn or carrots. I noticed some of the trendy weight loss diets suggest lowering or even eliminating carbohydrates. Comments?

Based on my fitbit, my carb intake is between 45 and 65 %, which is exactly what the dietary guidelines recommend. Eliminating carbs is indeed trendy. Nearly all diets have some kind of gimmick and stats show that eating a well-balanced diet of whole grains, plenty of fruits and vegetables, healthy fats, nuts and legumes is ideal - not just for weightless, but for long-term health.

All mainstream health organizations recommend eating beans, lentils, and whole grains - these are carbohydrate-rich whole foods.

No mainstream health organizations recommend eating added sugars or processed carbohydrate foods (white bread, crackers).

hi there!
vegan diet is not mainly carbs, it’s full of other important nutrients like protein, calcium or iron that our bodies need to function properly. I do not recommend cutting carbohydrates as they are very important in maintaining stable energy levels throughout the day.

Yes, a whole food plant based diet with limited oils, salts and sugars is highly recommended. We likely eat about 70-80% carbohydrates, 10-15% fat and 20% protein or thereabouts. Great for weight loss, general health and for inexpensive living.

Starch is a better word than carbohydrate as people associate carbs with donuts and cakes and cookies and processed foods, whereas starch is potatoes and rice and whole grain pastas and bean and lentils and veggies etc.

Emma JC