Your personal best 'best before'?

Second Summer

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
What is your personal best for consuming products beyond their "best before" date?

I think this is mine - it just had its 10-years anniversary!IMG_20231006_113912~2.jpgIMG_20231006_113930~2.jpg

The container was not opened until a month ago or so, so it had been sealed for about 10 years.

(I'm not advocating consumption of dangerously out-of-date foods, of course, but I think this cinnamon should be safe! It smells and tastes just fine, at least.)

Most people leave herbs and spices in their cupboards for years without batting an eyelid. However, as a former chef, I can tell you it will affect the taste of some recipes using old spices. They do in fact have a shelf life. Cinnamon is fairly resilient, but even it will fade in flavour over years. I think the fact that yours was never opened likely helped yours maintain a longer shelf life. Obviously, fresh ingredients are preferred in any recipe, but in this situation I would probably use it for the recipe you need. Although, I'd likely still replace the old bottle next time I visited the store.

I vacuum seal a lot of my spices. At least the ones I don't use frequently.

Most people leave herbs and spices in their cupboards for years without batting an eyelid. However, as a former chef, I can tell you it will affect the taste of some recipes using old spices. They do in fact have a shelf life.
Yes, I would think fresh spices generally have more flavour in them.
Cinnamon is fairly resilient, but even it will fade in flavour over years. I think the fact that yours was never opened likely helped yours maintain a longer shelf life.
Yes, I was surprised that it tasted so good after so long. I'm not exactly a cinnamon expert, but I thought it tasted fresher than the previous container, presumably because that one had been opened for longer.