Oreos and other accidental vegan treats

Tamsingray89

Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Reaction score
1
Age
33
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Oreo's do not contain any animal product ingredients, so they ARE vegan friendly in that sense. However, their different production lines are not isolated or separated, so technically, they POSSIBLY could have trace amounts of milk that was used in other products (like milk chocolate) in the same room - from https://www.quora.com/Are-Oreo-cookies-vegan-friendly
 

Laura_b

Newcomer
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Reaction score
0
Age
26
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
I actually quite like Oreos!
The idea that they 'POSSIBLY could have trace amounts of milk that was used in other products (like milk chocolate) in the same room', doesn't bother me too much. I became vegan for environmental, health and ethical reasons, so I think that a trace doesn't affect any of these 3 reasons :)

However with the vegan switch also came a motivation to eat healthier, more wholesome foods, so it probably would be a once in a while treat
 

Alex_M

Newcomer
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Reaction score
3
Age
31
Yes, there is something called Newman O's. Non-health-food health-food. Haven't had em in ages but I agree they are scrumptious. :)
 

MamaJessica

Newcomer
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Reaction score
2
Age
32
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
I found out some biscuits from Pillsbury is vegan... I make donuts with them.
 

Donald

Newcomer
Joined
Oct 29, 2017
Reaction score
1
Age
58
Lifestyle
  1. Vegetarian
Those sugary snacks may not contain any animal products but you want to cherish your body and treat it as a temple. Avoice sugary snacks, especially ones loaded with chemicals.