Newbie-Question Vegan supplements

dvarga

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hi forum Newbie here.

I tried being a vegan on and off several times from 1990 - 2005. Could barely do it in 1990. Then in the early 2000's after about a week into the diet I would lose up to a pound of weight a day, my energy was low and there was a pervasive bad feeling in my body. I did legume-whole grain protein combining ala Frances Moore Lappe, etc.... And the last attempt I not only protein combined, but kind of over-did it in case that this method would work but I was not eating enough vegan protein, so I over ate even more legumes and grains. But.... that did not work for me. I was taking Vit-B12 and iron supplements. Being a vegan was not compatible with my body seemed to be the message I received from all of my efforts. But maybe the missing ingredient is available through supplements?

Question. Can people share with me the lists of supplements that they use to maintain themselves on a vegan diet? And please share how long you have successfully been a vegan while using these supplements.

Thank you !

Dave

• Friendly
Reactions: PTree15 and silva
I am sure that others will chime in here .... the main reason that people fail is because they don't eat enough calories. I do not track my intake very often and when I do I use Cronometer.com it is free and gives you a good overall sense of what you may be missing.

I supplement D3/K2 daily, B12 once a week, Vit C a couple of time per week in my oatmeal and occasionally a B mix gel cap. I try to get most of my "supplements" from food/spices... turmeric, ground flax, hemp hearts, garlic, onion, whole foods, lots of starches in the form of pasta, rice, bread, potatoes and lots of fruits and vegetables plus beans, pulses, a few nuts and soy curls, grains (oatmeal, couscous).

Coming up on 6 years vegan.

Emma JC
Find your vegan soulmate or just a friend. www.spiritualmatchmaking.com