Organic fruit and veg boxes

AuburnLavender

Forum Senior
Reaction score
Does anybody order/buy/receive fruit and veg boxes? Are they a good idea? I hate the fact that I buy my fruit and veg from a supermarket, that they aren't local/regional and that they're not seasonal but I don't drive and there isn't a 'local' market I can get to easily. Are veg boxes a pain? I plan my family meals in advance and whilst I am a pretty flexible cook I'm not sure how I'd deal with receiving random veg each week. Anyone have any advice/opinions?

I get them. I love them. It's like getting a little surprise in the post every week :) The company I use have been quite frankly brilliant - they know what a vegan is and let you identify yourself as such, so that when they send you free sampler products you won't get any meat/dairy/eggs. And they send a lot of free samples :p I get stuff almost every week - extra potatoes, a lemon, a bulb of garlic, fresh bread, soymilk, a bottle of olive oil...

They also have a system where you log in online and rank every vegetable by love/like/dislike/skip. If you dislike it, they'll never send it, and if you skip it for a week they'll send you something else in its place. And they send you a little recipe guide each week, so you have ideas for meals. The one complaint I've ever had (a mouldy cauliflower) was resolved the instant I sent them an email about it.

I do realise I sound like I work for them :p I just really like getting my veg boxes.

Reactions: KLS52
Oh yeah I used to get one from years ok but I've moved a few times since then. Might give them another go :)

Personally I like to choose my own veg, but I like the idea of getting a huge box of suprise veg that may encourage you to try something different.

I heard of veg boxes around here, but it's only for a couple months of the year, and there's no way to choose or specify what you want or don't like. Also no snacks or anything are included.

Where do you live?