Health Issues Flu vaccine

CrazyCatLady

Forum Legend
Reaction score
As I work in a hospital in the UK I am entitled to and encouraged to have the flu vaccine each year.
In the past there has been controversy amongst staff as to whether they have it, with usually two strong camps.
The ones that have it (including myself) would like to be protected against at least one (presumed to be the most common at the time) strain of flu that year. We also know that if we get the flu we will have to have sick leave at a busy time of year leaving other members of staff working extra and patient care potentially suffering. The reason that always outweighed any reason for me not to, was that I would hate to have contracted flu and be in the early stages of it and still working, pass it on to an already very sick patient, and then...well, though there would be no way to prove it came from me I'd feel awfully guilty should anything happen to a patient I had seen!
Those who are against having it are for mainly myths...such as 'it gave me flu last time' 'it doesn't ever work' and for one girl who believes there isn't enough research on it and would rather put her own immune system to the test.

My questions are, does anyone else receive it? If so is it by choice (like I did) or are you in a high risk category so it's for your own health?

I understand that eggs are used in the making of the vaccine (not entirely sure of the details) but I was always asked if I was allergic to them. This makes me think there may be an alternative...should I ask into it?

Thanks xxx

I completely understand and sympathize with your stance. If I were in your shoes, I would get the vaccine as well.

The eggs are used as a medium to grow the vaccine, I believe. It's possible to use another medium (e.g. a vegan one), but eggs are found to be most cost effective.

Edit: If you think it's possible to get a more vegan-friendly version, that is of course worth investigating.