My Improvisational Dance Video

Naturebound1

Forum Legend
Reaction score
Because I have shared this elsewhere, I thought I might as well share it here too, since I am trying to learn to appreciate my body more. :) A week ago I went to the fitness center at 3:30am to film myself doing some natural improvisational dance. I love dancing but have not taken a dance class in 24 years (aside from a little zumba and yoga). I was a dance major at Ohio State University in the early 90s, and a student of Columbus City ballet before that. I also danced at a performing arts high school where I was a student for several years. Dancing will always be in my blood. I had quit for over two decades due to personal health issues and battling mental illness. More recently I took it up again.

There is no choreography or planning in this, so there is a lot of repetition, mistakes, and me looking at the mirror lol. Next time I will face away from the mirror. I also added the music later as I only had access to my mp3 while dancing, no boombox. I hope you enjoy it! I am off soon to go up north and stay at a hotel and do some snowshoeing. Sort of a mid winter vacation.

I just changed the music in the first video but it's being processed so we shall see what happens. :/

Physical exercise is a great thing, physical exercise which is also art takes it to a whole new level! Though, judging by the feedback so far, I guess improvisational dance isn't this crowd's thing so much :) That may well be the case in wider society as well, but I hope you won't let that stop you!

I think the only "improvisational dance" I've done were some very silly and alcohol-boosted dance moves back in the day, on my home town's dance floors, accompanied by "that sweet sound everyone likes" kind of music. I think I earned the nick name "Peter Pan" for a while ...! (Glad that phase of my life is over!)