Leather in cars

VegWedge

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hello Fellow Vegans!

I'm relatively new to veganism. Went vegan overnight because an overwhelming need to have a better relationship with the planet, as well as a diagnosis of being intolerant to cow's milk and eggs. The decision was simple, and have been vegetarian for a number of years following...anyway...I digress...

I have owned the same car since before becoming vegan, and I comes with half leather interior, and the centre of the seats are alcantara (synthetic fabric). No other interior option was available with this model and the car was bought used. Since becoming vegan, I considered replacing the leather with full alcantara...I got a quote of £2500...ouch. I then purchased some fabric to at least replace the gator around the gear knob and the handbrake. Got some lovely kimono fabric.

My dilemma is...I could replace the leather, but it would just end up in the bin. The cow would have died for nothing, or I can keep the leather, and just treat it with respect by keeping it clean, good condition and respect the cow who died to make my seats.

Which option is best morally?

Thanks! ☺️

My car is 14 years old, I bought it two years ago. I needed a good running, good in snow, reliable car I could well afford. It belonged to a customer of my mechanic, and he let me know about it. It has full leather seats.
I'm really quite pragmatic about being vegan. While I don't ever feel an animal should be used, the fact that this car had them while being the very very best of me options in every other way, I could not care much less if they were human skin

I put finances and circumstances on how I feel "possible and practical" apply.
If I had the means to be more choosy, I would of course have chosen the better option, but I'm not.
You have to do what makes you feel right, and not end up wishing you saved the money for car repairs!