Is a course of probiotics useful.

alleycat

Forum Legend
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
I have an upset digestion system after illness and antibiotics, ( finished 2 days ago ) would a course of probiotics help ? Any recommendations on what to look for. I've tried searching the net and just ended up confusing myself. I asked my G.P and she said it probably wouldn't hurt but she didn't seem really interested.

I use hing (asafoetid) for basic tummy upsets ,about a1/4 of teaspoon.
I have no idea about taking probiotics, although have never read anything negative about them.

Reactions: alleycat
I had some stomach problems and came off gluten for a while to see if that helped. I am taking a course of probiotics (started 2 weeks ago) called BetterVits, although I don't know if you can get them where you live. I googled and they got the best reviews. I usually take a probiotic after being on antibiotics as well, although I haven't taken them for quite a while.

of course I'm not a professional health professional but I have done some research on this. I've also spoken to some physicians.
IMHO, probiotics are a huge scam. However the one time they Might actually do some good is after a course of antibiotics.

As far as I can tell there are no studies proving that show probiotics are helpful. One researcher gave an interview and he even went as far as saying that among his patients they might have actually been harmful. (keep in mind that these were his patients because there were already things wrong with them).

He also pointed out that a lot of these bacteria probably don't even survive passing thru the stomach. their intended living area is the intestines which is not as acidic.