Question How to make it work in the kitchen?

B

Becky

Hi,
I'm Becky. I'm 31 and I live in the UK with my husband and 2.5 year old son!
I want to go vegan. I have no real experience with this however, aside from a vegetarian year in my early 20s where I pretty much just lived off of pasta, cheese and hot sauce!
over the last few weeks I've been eating more vegan meals and I'm pretty sure I could make the jump to full time vegan quite soon. However my husband is really upset - he loves food and cooking for me. He highly values eating together, he gets very stressy about the prospect of us cooking separate meals, and thinks that we will not be able to afford to eat separately.
In my head I think that we will probably end up spending about the same as meat and cheese are really expensive, and we will be buying half as much, even though I will be eating more fruit and veg. But it's not like rice, pasta and beans are expensive?
I just wanted to know about your experiences of being vegan with an omnivore partner and if there's any way I can reassure him that it's not all going to be horrible and we can still enjoy cooking together etc.
And any reassurance on budgeting and cost of food shopping for a household with a vegan and a meat eater would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks everyone xx

Hello Becky, welcome to the forum!

One good way to cook is the Chinese way of cooking ... Cook a lot of small(ish) dishes so that everybody gets someing they like. My wife (who is Chinese, which helps) normally cooks a huge rice cooker full of rice, and some small vegetable dishes (e.g. Stir fry veggies and tofu) as main dishes and fries some fish or meat on the side for my son who is not vegan or vegetarian.

Another favourite is tortilla wraps ... Some vegetables, chili (sin carne), some salads and also some small meat dish so everyone can compose their wrap with the ingredients they like.

Pasta, of course, can easily be made both vegan and tasty.