Ecology, biodiversity and veganism

nagev

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Hi, I have recently become fully vegan. I was almost there for a long time but now I have decided that there is no time to lose!

So far I feel healthy and calm, generally great! However, everyone is asking me endless questions about my diet, my lifestyle. Why? What about this? What about creatine etc etc...

It is getting very tiresome, I am reading lots but as this is new to me I am still learning my own position and I feel bad whenever I fail to put forward a compelling argument ( although I do do this, but people always raise new issues which would go on forever).

The most challenging query so far came from my partner and it concerned biodiversity and also the plant issue. Although I understand that eating animals harms more plants than just eating a plant based diet, I do believe that plants should be considered the equal of everything else - I know many disagree. I see the difference being that we need to eat something and therefore we should be grateful for any food we have. Therefore, my stance appears to be that my issue is with the meat industry as it is right now and that if that was different (ir if we lived in the wild/ farming didnt exist) I wouldnt inherently disagree with eating meat... because in that situtation I would need to eat and thus, due to my belief outlined above, plants and animals are equal and therefore there would be no distinction between the two in terms of nourishing my need to eat. That does feel right... but still, something about that feels wrong. I still feel that in some way, eating animals - even in the wild- would be more harmful than eating plants.......... My partner argued that if we didn't eat animals in the wild then the plants would suffer because we would be removing the natural predation of animals such as deer.

Any ideas?

Thank you!

Hello nagev and welcome.