Amsterdam

Underdog

Friendly neighbourhood vegan
Reaction score
I'm off to Amsterdam alone in two weeks...

I'll be a solo female traveler, staying in a women's hostel... But it is my first time traveling alone...

Any tips, or restaurant reccomendations would be appreciated (I don't smoke pot)...

I'm considering the body museum and the resistance museum... Hoping the city is safe and friendly!

I've only briefly been to Amsterdam while waiting for a connecting flight at Schiphol. (We took the train in to the city.) I seem to remember seeing a Maoz falafel place, and was annoyed at people smoking everywhere in the streets.

Cool, Amsterdam, I haven't been there for a while but I used to live there.
As for places to eat, the Maoz falafel places are pretty good for fastfood, and there are a couple of them in the city (the come from Amsterdam originally).
The 'Bazaar' at the Albert Cuypstraat is a fun restaurant with veggie options and not too expensive.

Fun things to do, there are loads of museums, you could rent a bike and cycle around town, walk along the channels. The photography museum is supposed to be good but I've never been there.

The city is typically pretty safe for a capital city, best not to go into parks or quiet areas after dark though.

Reactions: Second Summer
I'm visiting Amsterdam for a few days in September, will be staying in a hotel somewhere in city centre yet to be determined.
you could rent a bike
Ah, that sounds like a great idea! Then I could more easily get around to all the restaurants I want to visit :)

On that note, any restaurant recommendations? Looking for vegan food, obviously, and not very picky beyond that, though I have come to appreciate the importance of a good atmosphere and helpful staff in a restaurant.

Heyhey, it's been ages since I checked this site, but since your post seems to be fairly recent I'll respond anyway :p