Thinking about becoming plant based

Gabriel

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hey my name is Gabriel I am a college student studying the effects of eating a plant based diet and was wondering if anyone would be willing to answer some questions about their experience being vegan for a research paper. I am interesting in learning more about the vegan diet and possibly becoming plant based myself. The questions I had were: What was the main reason you decided to follow a vegan diet? How long were you plant based for? What problems did you have when you first started? How did being vegan effect your health? How did you stay on the diet long term? How did you feel after being on the diet for some time? What advice would you give to someone who is thinking about becoming plant based? Thank you for your help.

The questions I had were: What was the main reason you decided to follow a vegan diet?
In a nutshell it falls into the category of ethics. IMHO, that is always the main reason to follow a vegan lifestyle. but people will eat a vegan or plant based diet for health or environmental reasons, too.
How long were you plant based for?
It is hard to say. but I became interested in the vegan lifestyle for something like 23 years.
What problems did you have when you first started?
Its hard to remember now but I think the biggest problem I has was with misinformation. Some of the questions I had were hard to answer because of all the myths. Is soy bad.?Are eggs good? Fortunately I lucked out with finding a good podcast and good book.
The other thing was that I used to have a lot of trouble in the grocery store. Trying to find the one hamburger bun that is not made with butter and/or milk, and/or whey. Now I know most of what I need and if not, there are apps for that.
How did being vegan effect your health?