Primary Motivations

student756

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hello everyone. I am a student interested in veganism and its teachings. To deepen my understanding, I reach out to this community.

What do you think were your primary motivations for going vegan? Thank you!

Reactions: Emma JC
Animal rights.
I know this isn't universally accepted but IMHO the only primary motivation for vegans is animal rights. Sure some do it for the health reasons. but I'm pretty sure that the lifestyle has to be rooted in animal rights. It's not just a diet.

Short version: I didn't want my consumption and lifestyle to to be based on cruelty and murder of animals.

Long version:

I think already from an early age I was very fond of nature and animals, and as I grew older my appreciation and respect for pets such as cats and dogs only deepened. And from there it wasn't a huge leap to realise that other animals were also worthy of appreciation and respect.

Obviously, I abhorred cruelty to animals, so when I realised the scale of the horrors inherent in animal agriculture, but that there was a way of life that wasn't based on murder and cruelty, then the choice was an easy one.

The other users have already described many of the motivations I've always had, and my motivations weren't or aren't much different.

The first eye-opener experience of mine happened when I studied agriculture and got confronted with the whole death-and-violence industry. My first thought was this: "dammit, this is only one step away from any KZ-Lager!"
When we did work experience and met the animals in person, I saw how friendly they were to us. I found it very immoral to harness their kindness, and to keep these nice animals only to kill them. And I failed many exams in how to nurture animals so that they get fattened up enough to be killed, or in planning a proper KZ-Lager to them. Exactly because I found this level of animal abuse unacceptable.
I got vegetarian, then vegan gradually.