Wannabe Vegan

Renée

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegetarian
Hi all!

I've joined this forum to get more inspiration for being vegan. At the moment I am vegetarian but I hate the dairy industry and I love the cows and think it's all super cruel. Also as a health professional I know firsthand the effects of an unhealthy lifestyle-and I think raw/high carb low fat veganism is what I'd like to be ultimately.

But I do think it's a struggle.. in the UK especially. Firstly I have a baby and so I'm so busy some days I struggle to get to the bathroom! So I do need quick. I need convenience. Secondly-I'm quite the social butterfly, ahem! I love my friends and getting out and about.. and that often involves eating out.

Typical breakfast-porridge cooked with boiled water, honey (cuz maple expensive, other sugars hard to find), and lots of fresh fruit.

I try to make a green smoothie for lunch but that's not always possible.. but it all goes downhill after that. I end up snacking on crisps or whatever I can lay my hands on, and for tea my husband doesn't understand he does not need a 'protein' substitute like quorn and certainly does not require cheese-which he very nearly eats every meal.

Any tips/hints would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Quickly, honey is not a vegan product. Try substituting with something like golden syrup, or agave nectar, or maple syrup.

Secondly here are some links for quick and convenient vegan recipes:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/s...]=vegan&sortBy=lastModified&quickAndEasy=true
http://www.vegansociety.com/resources/recipes/quick-and-easy
veganlifestyleassoc.com/recipes (just tick 'time saving' and 'convenient)

Lastly depending on where you live in the UK there are plenty of guides (there are other kinds of guides too) to vegan friendly restaurants etc.. The Happy Cow is one good website.