The Resurrection of the Dead

rogerjolly

Practitioner
Reaction score
Lifestyle
Vegan
I would like to suggest that there should be an archive system whereby threads which have had no new contributions in, say, the last year could be consigned.

Recently there have been several cases of very old threads being responded to most frequently by absolute newbies to the forum. It makes me ponder the thought that this might be a new tactic devised by trolls……..

An extreme example is “Human Trafficking-3 Woman Kept As Slaves in London” which had a short life as a news story in November 2013. Yesterday, after seven years in the grave, it was responded to. Silly, silly, silly or what?

Sure, there will be loads of perennial topics that might have different slants to them but surely these would be best presented in entirely new threads with a freshness to them. :)

Roger.

• 👍
Reactions: KLS52 and Lou

Indian Summer

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Lifestyle
Vegan
It might be a way to prevent spammers from exploiting old threads as targets for posting their links, but it will also block legitimate and useful posts. As an example, some years ago someone started a thread asking about what Leslie Cross died from:
Question How did Leslie Cross die?

A strange thing to ask about, but a few years later Mr Cross' son comes along and posts a reply!

So my opinion is that the disadvantages of locking old threads outweigh the benefits.

• 👍
  • ✅
Reactions: KLS52 and shyvas

silva

Master
Supporter
Reaction score
It might be a way to prevent spammers from exploiting old threads as targets for posting their links, but it will also block legitimate and useful posts. As an example, some years ago someone started a thread asking about what Leslie Cross died from:
Question How did Leslie Cross die?

A strange thing to ask about, but a few years later Mr Cross' son comes along and posts a reply!

So my opinion is that the disadvantages of locking old threads outweigh the benefits.