Shea Butter (!)

TofuRobot

Forum Legend
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Who uses Shea Butter??

I have been using coconut oil for probably 3 years or so exclusively as a moisturizer and a makeup-remover. I literally haven't used anything else in terms of "skin care." I will sometimes dry brush before I shower, then slather on a ton of coconut oil all over, then shower... Makes it easy to shave (when I do it), too - no need for shaving cream.

Lately, however, with the ridiculously dry and hot weather we've been having, my 54 year old previously sun damaged legs have been crying and the coconut oil has not been cutting it. So I spent a bunch of time searching for a decent vegan & cruelty-free product that works something like Aveeno - the only thing I remember really helping my dry skin in the past. I landed upon some expensive brand of something that I ended up realizing was just shea butter. Nothing else - just shea butter. Had the highest rating on Amazon for anything related that I was looking at. Once I realized it was just branding making this stuff expensive I ended up buying a jar of 100% organic unrefined raw shea butter for about $13, and OMG this stuff is the bomb! It seriously makes me wonder what rock I've been living under that I haven't been using this before.

Right now I've got some in my hair, and I put some on my face... And I even scooped out a tin of TJ's "Head to Toe Balm" that I never really liked and has been sitting around for at least a year (was given to me as a gift) and filed it with shea butter to give to my son so he can try it to see if helps his skin, and for his dandruff issue that he's been having lately.

@Lou - you mentioned you have dandruff - have you tried shea butter? If so, does it help? According to the interwebs you're supposed to rub it into your scalp and let it sit for a bit before you shampoo as usual.