Seriously considering a switch

galmal

Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm really new to this, and know so little about it that I don't even know what to ask!!

I guess my biggest concern is getting enough protein. I know a few foods, like beans, eggs and dairy are good sources, but don't have nearly as much as animal protein. So, I guess my first question would be - how do I incorporate protein into my diet. I'm over 50 and I've read that my protein intake should probably go up, to about 80 grams a day?!!

Thanks for listening to a newbie.

Firstly, you should know the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan. Vegetarians eat eggs and dairy, while vegans don't. You should decide which you wish to transition to, as your diet will differ depending on that. A lot of people use vegetarianism as a stepping stone to veganism, and if you wish to do that it is fine.

A lot of people seem to think protein is a huge necessity. Yes, it is an essential nutrient, but we don't need huge quantities of it. The recommended amount of protein is 0.8 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight.

It shouldn't be hard at all to reach that. Lots of things have protein in them, like spinach, kale, soy milk, peanut butter, quinoa, tofu, lentils, beans (like you said) and of course nuts. Lots of other things have it too, just check on the back of the packet! You can always take supplements even, if you feel it's necessary. So you don't need eggs and dairy, if you wish to cut them out.

Thanks for the explanation. I think that for now I would just like to consider being a vegetarian, as a vegan sounds a little extreme to me. What about fish? Not that I eat that much of it, but it seems like the data is conflicting - some saying that it's essential and good for you, other saying that it has heavy metals like mercury.

I would probably start with cutting out beef, chicken and pork. That sounds like the easiest, as it's pretty obvious what products contain them.