Plant-Based Protein Supplement

livingbythesea

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
I am a newbie to a plant-based lifestyle, I exercise regularly and used to take whey based proteins. I was wondering if anyone had found any good plant-based proteins that don't have that pea/bitter after taste?

First off, Welcome.

Before I answer that question....

Not just newbie vegans, or even more experienced vegans, but lots of regular people overestimate the amount of protein a person requires for good health. The meat and dairy industry do their best to keep people misinformed but the billion-dollar supplement industry also provides lots of false facts.

There are online calculators that help estimate the amount of protein. But a coefficient is one of the handiest ways to go. You multiply the coefficient times your weight in pounds to get the required amount of protein in grams. There is some debate on the exact size of the coefficient but almost everyone puts it somewhere between 0.3 and 0.4. But at my gym, most of the guys think the number is at least twice that.

Oh. you are in the UK. the coefficient for kilograms is between .72 and .86.

Another way to calculate it is that protein should make up between 10 and 30 percent of your calories. I shoot for 20%. Sixty percent carbs, and 20 percent protein and 20% fats. A good thing about using percents is that if you are an athlete you need more calories and protein. As you eat more calories - and multiply it by 20%, your protein goals go up automatically.