Question Omnivore needs advice on transitioning into veganism

S

Sunroad

Hi :)
I have been looking in to the vegan lifestyle for a few years now and I've tried several times to transition without any luck. I am a student who lives at home and subsequently I can't really afford much more than School books and bus fare, so I eat whatever I am given by my parents. The problem is that as I've gotten older I am notecing my Health is deteriorating. I live in a country where bread, meat and potatoes is a staple in most homes, and so obviously that is what my parents consider healthy as well. I've tried eating more vegetables and switching out meals for fruit but it only lasts for as long as there is fruit in the house, and then I'm back to whatever is purchased. I don't feel like I can possibly ask my parents to purchase all of this different food just for me, when they think it is a bad idea in the first place to consider vegetarianism or veganism. I'm just greatful to have a bed to sleep in and a roof over my head whilst I'm still studying to become something so that I can support myself.
At the same time I'd really like to begin my transition into veganism or possibly vegetarianism first and then veganism later. Are there any vegetarians or vegans who might have some advice for me? How should I go about transitioning without inconveniencing my parents? and how can I make sure that my transition stays permanent?

Thank you for your advice! I appreciate it :)

- S

Hello, Sunroad. It sounds like a slightly challenging situation. Veganism and vegetarianism don't have to be expensive, as the staples in the diet really should be legumes like beans, lentils, chickpeas, peanuts, combined with grains like rice and pasta, preferably the brown and wholewheat versions.

You can try to find and make traditional dishes from your country that are accidentally veg*n, if you don't want to freak out your parents.