Omega 3 question

mtotheb

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Other
I have been a Vegan for nearly 4 months. I'm worried about Omega 3. I take flaxseed and Chai seeds daily plus my multi vitamin tablets... BUT I have been reading a lot of research that states Omega 3 is different in plants (flax etc) and oily fish like mackerel. Apparently the plant Omega 3 is no where near as good for you as eating fish. I have also been reading new emerging reports about mental health and Omega 3. Apparently taking Omega 3 is your insurance policy in the future to help prevent dementia etc..

I'm seriously doubting my vegan diet and I'm really interested if anyone can offers some information about this.

I have also checked the NHS website that states a Mediterranean diet is the healthiest one. I'm seriously thinking of introducing fish into my diet but still not eating chicken etc and not having dairy products... Does this make me a bad person

Hi! I'm new to this whole vegan concept but I can provide some insight on Omega 3s. While yes Omega 3 from plants has a very different make up than Omega 3 from fish, you still need Omega 3 from plants in your diet. Omega 3s from fish are a longer carbon chain (if you get into the chemistry of it all) while Omega 3s from plants are a shorter carbon chain. Omega 3s in fish have DHA and EPA which you CANNOT get in Omega 3s from plants (you get ALA instead). DHA and EPA are part of the make up of your cells. If you are worried about future health problems from not getting enough of the Omega 3 in fish, then the best thing for you is exercise! While exercise will not replace the Omega 3s it will help to combat against future mental decline. If you are wavering still about your vegan diet then I would suggest either algae (which can have the Omega 3s that you would find in fish) or fish oil supplements (as a last resort), which means you do not have to directly eat fish. Obviously there is no good answer to your question but I hope I provid