October Health Challenge

Status
Not open for further replies.
I might sign up for a virtual race this month. I've never tried one of those before. This one is through the Zombies, Run! app. I would do just the 5k run and focus on my speed. All the races I've done before were just to see if I could finish. I'd like to try and place a bit higher than usual (usually I'm in the bottom 10, haha.)

Not sure if I'll do it, though. I have a lot of things on my mind lately.

I saw my doctor last week, and she put me on a wait list to see a therapist. I also asked her to increase the dosage of my antidepressants. The dosage I'm on now is actually lower than usual. Anyway. I've also downloaded a new app that I'm hoping will help with my motivation: Habitica. It gamifies your life by turning your "to do list" into somethign that earns you experience points for your little RPG character. It's cute. On day 4 of using it, and so far it is helping.

Reactions: Chryssie and KLS52
I was going to be so, so motivated in October!!! Then we had a heat wave. 🥴

No motivation here. Had the whole thyroid biopsy scare and now it’s too dark to walk before work. I will try and figure something out.

I have not being doing so well on my food intake. I have cut back on salt pretty well but that damn sugar is a huge challenge! I am sticking with the treadmill every day though so that is a plus!

Reactions: Katrina and KLS52
I signed up for the race!

For the past few weeks, I gave myself some slack on the running by doing just 2 days instead of 3. I think this week I'll go back to 3 days while I try to improve my speed. The training schedule I'm following involves lots of sprinting to help develop muscles in the glutes and legs.