NSFW My first experience of an activism event :Warning/Pic may offend

KateMollart

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Hi everyone, I'm a long time lurker of this sub and I love reading all of the posts on here so I thought it would be good to make an account and contribute to the community :)

I have always had a passion for environmentalism. I did my undergraduate degree in Environmental Studies and since becoming a mum I've felt a real sense of duty in ensuring we create a sustainable future and planet for the next generation and to intstill a love for nature. With the news highlighting COP26 this week (and learning more about the role of international governments in fighting climate change) I also think it is important to remember the role that we as individuals have to play as well. I live with my husband and kids in a fairly rural area in the UK. Our property backs onto a local woodland and grassland area which is full of biodiversity and such a great place for us to explore as a family and learn about the environment. Last year a developer submitted plans to development the area to provide a cosmetics testing facilities (which would include animal testing). The local community struggled to get our voices heard during the planning process.

A few neighbours established an Environmental Protection Group as a way to formally object to the development and the negative impact it would have on the environment and to highlight the abuse on animals. In the summer our group decided to hold a environmental protest event at the site (inspired by the work of ER) and held a 'Bare as you Dare' protest where we demanded that the developer exposes the bare truth about the harmful environmental impacts of the scheme. I went with my family to offer moral support to our neighbours and I ended up thinking that I'd better practice what I preach and decided to spontaneously join in!