Living in the United States vs Europe

Second Summer

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan

I thought this was a quite interesting monologue, and I find myself agreeing with her on many points. She talks about topics such as fear for crime, public transit, ads and materialism, work-life balance, housing, communal areas, and eating out vs in. Would be interested in hearing opinions from others who have visited both continents! I realize the video is a bit one-sided, and I'll add that personally I've always thoroughly enjoyed my visits to the U.S. I also feel like I've had some great culinary experiences in the U.S. (great vegan food!), and I never personally felt unsafe anywhere I visited over there.

Reactions: Poppy and Val
It's a shame that the video is so long plus the she repeats herself non stop. It would have also been interesting to
know what she did for a living whilst she was in Europe.

When you compare Europe to to the US, one must bear in mind that Europe is made up of different countries, cultures, languages and some countries are richer than others.

What she points out about crime, wanting to own a large house, shopping experiences and TV ads are true of both continents. In Europe most countries have little space, hence the smaller roads and houses/flats. The public transport system is far more developed because historically we had an Industrial revolution. The major difference with US TV ads are that pharmaceutical companies promote medication if not they are all basically the same.
It would be too difficult to compare dining within the two continents due to so many different ways that people dine out within Europe alone. I would
say that there are far more fast food options in the US but in Europe we are not far behind. I've had mainly good experiences in the US and find that dining works out cheaper compared to France.