Is it me or is vegan footwear expensive?

Garry Z.

Reaction score
Lifestyle
Vegan
Hello all,

This is my first post on this forum. I have been eating plant-based for about two years. I have not bought any leather shoes since then. I have been feeling pretty guilty about still wearing my leather boots and I am now transitioning into throwing them out and making sure all of the clothing I will be wearing will be cruelty-free. Aside for Matt and Nat, doesn't it feel like fashionable vegan boots (at least for men) seem overly expensive?

This reminds me of skateboard clothing. Skateboarding is filled with a rebellious bunch who are anti-establishment..yet when you look at their gear, you aren't getting anti-establishment prices. A skateboarding hoodie can easily run you over $100.

TofuRobot

Reaction score
Lifestyle
Vegan
It's not you.

I'm wearing all my existing shoes until they wear out.

Garry Z.

Reaction score
Lifestyle
Vegan
It's not you.

I'm wearing all my existing shoes until they wear out.
Same here. I just feel like an *** being around other vegans talking about the natural rights of cows while wearing their skin on my feet. Forgive me vegan gods.

• 👍
Reactions: kelli

Lou

Reaction score
Lifestyle
Vegan
Vegan apparel has made great leaps and strides since I started being a vegan. So you don't get to complain or I will start telling you how ten years ago there was just Doc Martens. and only one style and one color. we had to walk barefoot to school. when it snowed we wrapped our feet in barb wire for traction. it was all uphill, too. Both ways.

as far as prices go.... look how long a shoe lasts you now. and then divide the number of years it lasts. That is the annual cost of buying vegan footwear.

The other part of buying vegan footwear is that almost all inexpensive shoes are without good working conditions. Sometimes by children. By looking for ethical shoes you are also being not funding factories that have poor working conditions and/or child labor.