How to grow a veggies on your balcony?

carrotcake

Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I'm sure that some of you live in apartements like I do with no garden space. I'm a student, so money is tight and food is expensive. I've been thinking about growing my vegetables on my balcony instead, but I'm not sure how well they can grow in a flowerpot instead of a beet. I'd love to grow my own salad, onions, potatoes and herbs. I'm fairly certain that I could grow herbs, but potatoes? Or cucumbers? I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience in growing veggies in a small place with no beet.

Reactions: MadamSarcastra
Hi guys!

I'm sure that some of you live in apartements like I do with no garden space. I'm a student, so money is tight and food is expensive. I've been thinking about growing my vegetables on my balcony instead, but I'm not sure how well they can grow in a flowerpot instead of a beet. I'd love to grow my own salad, onions, potatoes and herbs. I'm fairly certain that I could grow herbs, but potatoes? Or cucumbers? I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience in growing veggies in a small place with no beet.

I would also like to have a few small potted plants... definitely herbs, but veggies would be splendid. Unfortunately, I have quite the brown thumb when it comes to any sort or gardening. :no: I have two herb starter "kits" (basil & parsley) that came with packets of seeds, soil, fertilizer, and two very small pots (with no drainage holes)... however, there are no instructions. I just don't trust myself to wing it.

For an experiment (this was quite a while ago), I shoved two sprouting potatoes in a pot of soil & they grew like CRAZY! :eek: I read, though, that you should never try to grow potatoes to eat from sprouting store-bought ones... they can carry various diseases, apparently. It's strongly recommended that you plant seed potatoes.

Growing Potatoes In Containers: How To Grow Potatoes In A Pot