How do you deal with people who don't support your lifestyle decision?

Leigha

Matter & Pixie Dust
Reaction score
I'm new to this lifestyle, but have been lessening my intake of meat and dairy over the past few years. In researching the horrible unethical behaviors by many in the dairy/meat farming industries, I've been moved to changing my lifestyle. When I share this and try to help friends to better understand, it's met with an angry response. And not just an angry response, but they don't believe what I'm telling them! lol They don't believe that the majority of industry factory farm practices involve the unethical treatment of animals.

How do you deal with people who don't support your decision or try to imply that you're motivated by your emotions, and not by facts?

Frankly, I don't go there. I may state that I am vegetarian and will very briefly explain why if asked ... and only if asked. I never try to "educate" as it often comes across as "preachy" and makes people defensive and sometimes angry as they feel they are being judged. I do understand the wanting to make people understand and spread the word but it is very possible to cause people to get angry. I do not like confrontation so... I guess I am a wimp!
That said... WELCOME ! :)

I think your way might be the better way. lol I don't want to come across as judging, because I ate meat and dairy without a thought to it all, so I understand that it can be surprising to some to hear this. When you hear information that is life changing, you just want to share it with everyone to help them. :)

Thank you for the welcome!

Reactions: MadamSarcastra
And not just an angry response, but they don't believe what I'm telling them! lol They don't believe that the majority of industry factory farm practices involve the unethical treatment of animals.

How do you deal with people who don't support your decision or try to imply that you're motivated by your emotions, and not by facts?