Hi all

Glen ILACQUA

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Newbie here. Went Vegan as a 2019 resolution and to treat Type II diabetes. In 2 months I've lost 13# and my A1C dropped from 7.7 to 6.8. I'm having a great time exploring new foods and spices. I feel great, however, I get nauseous about 2 hours after lunch. It just started happening about 6 weeks in. Doesn't matter what I eat. I take a vitamin and mineral supplement.

If anyone has any thoughts, I'd appreciate it.

Otherwise, happy to be here!

G

Reactions: poivron and Lou
welcome Glen!

congrats on your resoluteness and your successes so far

As you are trying new foods and spices, it may be difficult to guess about your nauseousness.

Maybe try some kind of elimination process to see if there is something in particular that spurs it? I find that if I eat a meal that is too high in fat, I feel nauseous.

Happy you're here!

Emma JC

Thanks Emma!

The diet I'm on is the one touted by Dr. Neal Barnard's book on reversing diabetes. It is essentially a whole food, plant-based diet where you also keep fats of any kind as low as possible. I interpret that to be under ~40g per day. My diet is pretty varied, and the nausea hasn't seemed to be linked to any one food. I've checked my blood glucose while nauseous and it's not too low or high. I'm also taking a comprehensive supplement that provides ample B12 and about 1/2 of the RDA for iron - which I've been told that low levels can cause nausea.

It's a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma.

:)

Other than the nausea, I'm surprised at how easy it has been.

G

Reactions: Emma JC
good on you! I am a huge fan of Dr Barnard and eat the same way

I guess the only other thing to consider is if you are eating enough calories? although a lack of calories would not normally be a reason for nausea. Cronometer is a good way to keep track for the short term.