Service Grocerymate -new android app

When going to the grocery store, which of these options best describes you:

• I go to the grocery store having a general idea of what I want to buy before I go in.

• I go to the grocery store with a grocery list and some of the items I buy correspond to recipes

• I go to the grocery store with a preplanned list of ingredients that all correspond to recipes

Results are only viewable after voting.

GroceryMate

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Hi everyone!

I have been working on an Android app for the past few months, which aims to solve a common problem I have had as a vegan who enjoys cooking a variety of recipes. Please note that I am still a beginner with Android programming.

Difficulties

One of the difficulties that I have had with switching to a vegan diet, was planning my meals so that they are delicious and varied in flavour. Vegan cooking often requires many ingredients (and it should to be as healthy as possible!). This can get complicated, especially when at the grocery store. I am someone who loves to use all the great vegan cookbooks out there, in addition to the online recipes people have generously uploaded.

Adding up all the ingredients you might want to buy for a week can be tiresome, and as someone with limited time on my hands, I prefer to limit my time in the grocery store as much as possible - such as by making one or two weeks' worth of food. In addition, I am limited in fridge space, and so being efficient in what I buy is important - especially if you live with roommates or others (and we all know how full the fridge can get being vegan with heaps of delicious vegetables).

A solution