US Ethical Insect Farm?

abemichael

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Omnivore
Hello Vegan Forum! Happy to be here with my first post. I am a product design student in university here in the US. I was wondering if anyone has experience eating/farming their own insects?

I am also currently circulating a short survey, those who participate will be entered into a drawing to win a $100 prepaid visa gift card: Food Survey

I'm curious to hear some thoughts on this from the vegan community. I've seen this topic discussed in other threads, but never the idea of raising them yourself, where you can assure ethical farming practices (which turn out to be relatively easy for insects). Thanks everybody! : )

True, insects are not part of a vegan diet. But assuming most of us are vegans for ethical reasons, then I think these conversations are appropriate here. From an ethical perspective, it seems like more of a gray area. It's counterintuitive, but replacing soy protein with insect protein in a diet could be argued as more ethical. To produce 1lb of soy protein, a significant amount of insects are killed through the use of pesticides, not to mention other critters like rabbits, mice and voles that make their homes in farm fields. Insect farming could actually lead to an agricultural future with less animal death vs pure veganism.

I'd be curious to hear your thoughts on this silva.

PS Thanks for the reply! :)

I think the main thing is that insects getting killed while farming crops falls in to the category of incidental or accidental deaths.

Insects killed for food clearly falls into the category of intentional or deliberate.

It is sort of the difference between involuntary manslaughter and premeditated murder.