Drawing Blood Without a Warrant

Eleven

Forum Devotee
Reaction score
The Supreme Court heard arguments today in a case in which police in Missouri forced a man to have blood drawn without a warrant being issued. The police suspected the man of driving under the influence and when asked, the man refused to take a breathalyzer test. The Court could rule narrowly here or they could issue a sweeping decision either allowing or banning the drawing of blood in some or many circumstances without a warrant. The federal government and state and local governments have joined together in arguing for the warrantless searches while the American Civil Liberties Union is opposing.

I'm siding with the ACLU.

I'm a nurse in the US, and if I draw blood without the patient's permission, I can be charged with assault. If I were his nurse, and he refused, no way would I draw it no matter what the cop said. Let him draw it if he wants it so bad. It is unethical. Go ACLU.

Reactions: Dedalus
So if he refuses a breathalyzer and refuses a blood draw, does some lawyer get him off because there was no proof he was drunk? How about refuse to be tested = 5 years in prison.

So if he refuses a breathalyzer and refuses a blood draw, does some lawyer get him off because there was no proof he was drunk? How about refuse to be tested = 5 years in prison.
In Florida, if you refuse the breathalyzer on a first offense, you forfeit your drivers license for a year and are charged with a DUI. But if you agree to the breathalyzer and are *not* over the legal limit, they can draw blood to see if you've been smoking weed or anything.

Sounds good though I'd like to see it for more than 1 year. I have no sympathy for drunk drivers.