Do vegans really need multivitamins?

alligatortears

Gigantically queer
Reaction score
I've heard that vegans need supplements for things like b12, but I also heard that multivitamins don't actually work and you can get all you need from a balanced diet? Which is true? As a student I don't want to be wasting money on vitamins if I don't need to...

I've heard that vegans need supplements for things like b12, but I also heard that multivitamins don't actually work and you can get all you need from a balanced diet? Which is true? As a student I don't want to be wasting money on vitamins if I don't need to...
The "multivitamins don't work" study only looked at certain vitamins, and B12 was not one of them. I don't think it considered vitamin D either.

Vegans definitely do need a reliable source and sufficient amounts of B12. The best source of this is supplements. I think it might also be possible to get enough B12 from fortified foods, but it requires some planning. (I wouldn't personally recommend relying entirely on fortified foods for B12.)

We also need a source of vitamin D. We can get a lot through exposure to the sun, but only in the summer months when the sun is high in the sky.

Since you're in England, I would really recommend Veg1 which is a "small" multivitamin that contains only the vitamins and minerals that vegans tend to not get enough of in our diet. It's available from the Vegan Society's web shop:
VEG1 Blackcurrant 90's | The Vegan Society
(You might find it elsewhere as well, if you google.)

It's a good idea to consume e.g. fortified plant milks as well, just to be on the safe side.

Last edited:
Which reminded me to phone the quacks for the results of my blood test.

Last time I was fine for Iron but entering the 'no panic' low zone on B12.

This time I'm at the high end for iron and my B12 has risen into the normal range.

No supplements taken in between the tests.