Difficulty digesting fiber

donsabi

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Other
I am new here and experiencing some detox symptoms after the first week. I opted to include some salmon and tuna while tapering. I have become a pescotarian.
I have been baking bread for over ten years. In that time I have tried a variety of breads. Every time I tried a whole wheat or high fiber bread I had digestive issues. My last effort was grinding 5 grain cereal and adding a small amount to my white bread but still had digestive issues.
Many years ago I enjoyed black bean soup and chili but as I aged I had difficulty digesting the beans. I tried a number of probiotics and enzymes but still the bloat and gas persists after eating beans. I tried soaking and pressure cooking but nothing helped.
This week I tweaked my no oil/eggs muffins to include pumpkin and flax seeds and so far so good.

Anyone else have issues with beans and high fiber?

It's best not to use canned beans if at all possible. Also, soak your beans extremely well. Soak, rinse, and double-soak them. Rinse them again before cooking them in fresh clean water. This will help reduce their natural sugars, which tend to cause the digestive problems. No guarantees. Some people just don't tolerate them.

Also, introduce beans slowly into your diet, as though they were a potent drug. Start will a little bit and gradually add a bit more every day until your tolerance for beans hopefully improves. It is not an uncommon problem not being able to handle beans in the GI tract. Also, choose beans that are easier to digest, like lentils, black-eyed peas, adzuki, anasazi, mung beans, etc.

The fact is there's nothing in meat you can't get from plants, and be healthier for it. If you need more reasons to go fully plant-based, watch "Forks Over Knives" or "What The Health" on Netflix. Forks Over Knives is the reason I went vegan. YouTube is also very helpful for information, and awesome recipes.

Veganite