Did going vegan make you a better cook?

Did going vegan make you a better cook?

• Total voters

spottygiraffe

Forum Practitioner
Reaction score
Just interested. Personally I think I'm much more experimental and willing to try new things so it would be a 'yes' from me.

Since I'm not vegan yet (but soon), I probably shouldn't vote, but I did anyway. :p

When I ate meat, I was a terrible cook. I hated to cook, I hated to touch the meat, I tried to avoid eating it if I could. But I was brainwashed with the "you need your proteins" thing. After I became vegetarian, my interest for food and abilty to cook has increased a lot. I've eaten vegan a lot since I became vegetarian, and it have also been the meals I've experimentet the most with and have the most joy cooking. :)

I wasn't sure how to vote as I used to be able to bake a lot better with eggs but now I don't bother baking as vegan cakes don't taste as nice when I make them. I've had nice vegan cakes in cafes and restaurants so there must be a trick to them.

I do cook more from scratch since being vegan but I wouldn't say I was a great cook.:confused:

I'm not really sure. I consider myself a decent cook, but I will say I have become much more adventurous in trying new foods. So in that sense, yes, I am a better cook.
Moll, regarding vegan baking...don't give up. I just keep reading about/trying out new techniques and combinations until I find something that works to my liking. I'm still tinkering with cookie recipes, as cookies seem to be the hardest things to get the way I like them.

I found that being vegan forced me to cook more, as there were less ready made things obviously. So more practise. Hard to say though as I went vegan as a 21 year old student who'd just started her second year of uni, so could've easily just become better at cooking anyway. That said, I'm still not particularly good haha.