Diabetes

CaraT2974

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hello,

Im heading to the GP this afternoon as I am experiencing symptoms of diabetes such as blurred vision, excessive thirst and going to the toilet. I am 29, a few pounds overweight- 11 stone 1 and ideal weight is 10 stone 6 to get back into BMI range. I can’t help but feel responsible and as though I deserve this as I am self confessed chocolate addict and an emotional eater. Now if I get the diagnosis or not this have gave me the fright I need to improve my diet. I’ve been researching and watched forks over knives which has given me confidence to tackle this with a vegan diet. I’m wondering if anyone has experience of this? I also noted that they do not recommend oil - does anyone have any other recommendations? Many thanks, Cara

• Friendly
Reactions: Emma JC
I have some second-hand experiences with diabetes. It's no joke.

However, a friend of mine who is a nurse and I had an interesting conversation one night. She said that if she had to choose a disease to have, she would choose diabetes because it can be managed simply by living right: diet and exercise.

There are at least two excellent books, you should run out and buy one of them. The two I know of are both written by Doctors who are out of the FOK school. Plant-based.

Dr. Neal Barnard's Program for Reversing Diabetes

The End of Diabetes - by Joel Fuhrman

• Agree
Reactions: Emma JC and shyvas
You have been given some great advice here and good on you for picking up the no oils part of it as it is the most important part. Not sure if you know why that is?