Confused about Dominos

Soyabean

Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
So after a lot of deliberation and lots of putting it off, I finally decided to go from veggie to vegan yesterday!
Anyway I'm just a bit confused about Dominos. I'd read/heard that you can simply order a cheese less pizza with just sauce and veg and it'd be vegan. However, I've just been on their website FAQs. One question is "Is Dominos suitable for vegans?" And the answer is "Our bases contain a milk derived ingredient, making them unsuitable for vegans"
But in another question "Is Dominos suitable for people with an allergy to lactose?" Their answer is "Our gluten-free pizza base is dairy-free."
So does this mean we can only have the gluten free base, and if so, why don't they state that in the vegan question?
I had also heard their garlic dip was vegan but I'm starting to doubt this now lol
What about Pizza Hut?
 

Scou

Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Reaction score
2
Age
47
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
It seems last year, the thin and crispy Base was vegan. But now, all their bases contain milk, except the gluten free, which is still not vegan... From memory, I think it contains eggs. Their allergies document on their website lists the ingredients of all their pizza bases.

http://corporate.dominos.co.uk/nutritional-information
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
OP
OP
S

Soyabean

Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Pizza Express do a specifically vegan pizza, that's all I know. I don't tend to order from Dominos/Pizza Hut but I'm pretty sure this has come up before on the forum. I found these threads:
https://veganforum.co.uk/threads/papa-johns-vegan-pizza.442/
https://veganforum.co.uk/threads/vegan-pizza-from-dominos.2

Congrats on the recent transition! :)
Thanks for your reply :)
It looks like Dominos is no longer vegan but Pizza Hut is !
I don't go there often but don't want to be left out if my meat eating or veggie friends are ordering haha!
And thank you. I think it'll be hard but I've wanted to do it for such a long time. The final straw came when me and a vegan friend went out for a curry and we had everything made vegan. We had poppadoms, chutneys, chickpea curry, rice and a bottle of wine all vegan. It made me realise I can still have all the things I love and that I don't need to eat dairy!
I went on holiday all inclusive for a week, had a big veggie blow out last week and started yesterday ! :)
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
S

Soyabean

Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
It seems last year, the thin and crispy Base was vegan. But now, all their bases contain milk, except the gluten free, which is still not vegan... From memory, I think it contains eggs. Their allergies document on their website lists the ingredients of all their pizza bases.

http://corporate.dominos.co.uk/Media/Default/CSR/MASTERIngredientsPizzasandToppingsC32016.pdf
Ah yeah, looks like it has recently changed :(
From what I can see, the classic and pan bases from Pizza Hut are vegan and so is their garlic bread ! So I guess I'll be sticking with them :)
And yes I heard about Zizzi! That was one of my final reasons to make the change as it seems like it's becoming easier and easier to be vegan
I'll probably leave it a while until I've forgotten what real cheese tastes like XD
 

Damo

Forum Legend
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Reaction score
243
Age
28
Location
UK
Hmmm... I couldn't get this to load.


This PDF updated 09/04/15 shows that the "Thin & crispy" base is vegan.

Flour (Wheat, Malted Barley), Water, Soybean Oil, Yeast, Dextrose, Acidity Regulators: E450, E500; Corn Starch, Acidity Regulator: E341; Preservative: E282; Emulsifier: Soya Lecithin. Contains ingredients produced from genetically modified soya and maize

I guess either the FAQ is out of date or the PDF above is... I'll ask someone on their Facebook page.

EDIT: Soo... I had a response back from their UK Facebook page doesn't really help though :pensive: I guess it would be wise to avoid them, lots of other places however as you've mentioned.

Hey guys, is this PDF up to date? http://corporate.dominos.co.uk/Media/Default/CSR/Food/Pizzas-and-Toppings-Ingredients.pdf
Your FAQ states that "Our bases contain a milk derived ingredient, making them unsuitable for vegans" though the thin and crispy base in the PDF above doesn't contain milk?

Domino's Pizza UK
Hi, we cannot guarantee this, thanks for notifying us :)
 
OP
OP
S

Soyabean

Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hmmm... I couldn't get this to load.



This PDF updated 09/04/15 shows that the "Thin & crispy" base is vegan.



I guess either the FAQ is out of date or the PDF above is... I'll ask someone on their Facebook page.

EDIT: Soo... I had a response back from their UK Facebook page doesn't really help though :pensive: I guess it would be wise to avoid them, lots of other places however as you've mentioned.

Thanks for messaging them :)

Wow that's a bit of a rubbish response lol. Pizza Hut it is!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Damo

Damo

Forum Legend
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Reaction score
243
Age
28
Location
UK
Yeah... I was expecting a better response than what I had :pensive:

Didn't realise Pizza Hut offered vegan pizza, I'll have to check it out.
 

gremola

Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2016
Reaction score
0
Age
49
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan