Status
Not open for further replies.

Aurora

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hi Everyone,

I’ve just joined this forum. I’ve been mostly plant based for years, I’ve made the switch to veganism for ethical reasons. These being the obvious concern for animal welfare, but primarily for the impact animal agriculture has on climate change and ecosystems. I work as a zoologist in conservation and I could no longer reconcile consuming/using animal products with my passion for wildlife.

So, here is my strange question. As a side hustle/hobby, I have collected and carved animal skulls since I was a kid. The ones I use are found specimens (only what is legal to collect), and occasionally I will buy from a supplier whose skulls are also found. No money is paid for the skulls themselves and no industry is supported by finding them. I carve them and sometimes do resin inlays etc. then sell them. 20% of my profits go towards supporting wildlife related causes.

Obviously, by definition this isn’t vegan as skulls are an animal product. However, I can’t find an ethical dilemma with it myself, but a few of my vegan friends I’ve mentioned it to say it’s not okay.

I know there might be an ‘ick’ factor for some people but I personally don’t think using bones from naturally deceased animals is unethical. I’d be really interested to see what people think on this one? To help me make my mind up about whether to continue with it or not

Also, sorry if this isn’t the best place to ask. I couldn’t really decided where to put this question, and it’s part of me transitioning to being vegan, so it seemed appropriate