Always vegan?

magelarsen

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Age
37
Location
Manila
Lifestyle
Other
Hello!! Please help me! Are these foods/supplements listed below are always vegan? I've tried google search but i got not so much results.

Here it goes!

Always vegan? (Yes/No):

Storage Vinegar
Fruit Bars
Maltodextrin
Carnations
Flower vinegar
Saw seaweed
Rosebuds

Thank you so much!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lou

HappyRoxy

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2019
Messages
76
Reaction score
60
Age
45
Location
South Australia
Lifestyle
Vegan
Hello!! Please help me! Are these foods/supplements listed below are always vegan? I've tried google search but i got not so much results.

Here it goes!

Always vegan? (Yes/No):

Storage Vinegar
Fruit Bars
Maltodextrin
Carnations
Flower vinegar
Saw seaweed
Rosebuds

Thank you so much!
I don't know what storage vinegar is.
It depends on what the ingredients of the fruit bars are.
I don't know what Maltodextrin is.
Carnations are a plant - yes they are vegan.
I don't kow what flower vinegar is.
I don't know what saw seaweed is.
Rosebuds are from a plant - yes they are vegan.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lou

mavrick45

Active Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
245
Reaction score
229
Age
35
Location
illinois
Lifestyle
Vegan
Maltodextrin is a white powder made from corn, rice, potato starch, or wheat

animal ingredients are not involved at any stage of the production of this vegetable-derived starch
 
  • Like
Reactions: HappyRoxy and Lou

Emma JC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2017
Messages
1,034
Reaction score
1,081
Location
Canada
Lifestyle
Vegan
Suggestion.... use the google machine on your computer and ask "is _________ vegan" and you when you input vinegar you might be surprised by the answer.

Storage Vinegar - distilled vinegars are usually vegan
Fruit Bars - no
Maltodextrin - probably
Carnations - the flowers yes
Flower vinegar - not always
Saw seaweed - probably, also not sure what it is
Rosebuds - if you are referring to the chocolate Rosebuds the answer is no, if to the rose flower's bud then yes

Emma JC
 
  • Like
Reactions: HappyRoxy and Lou

Ger

Member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
70
Reaction score
80
Age
64
Location
Canada
Lifestyle
Vegetarian
Maltodextrin is usually derived from genetically-modified (GM) crops like GM corn. I try very hard to avoid food that have ingredients like that in them. I am a long-time follower of the Canadian Biotechnology Action Network (CBAN). Check out: www.cban.ca
 
  • Like
Reactions: HappyRoxy