Abnormal shift in views

Ellie

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hello there!
This is my first time posting here so I hope this thread is in the right section of the forum.

So, I've been a vegetarian (and an on-and-off vegan) for about an year or two and recently I decided to really go full vegan. It wasn't hard and I don't miss meat or dairy or eggs at all but something really weird starting happening with my way of thinking (it had started when I went vegetarian but now I feel it even stronger).
Instead of me gaining even more compassion for other species the opposite happened - I would start questioning whether it is a stupidity to feel so compassionate since in nature animals can be extremely savage in order to survive...
I've watched nature programmes all my childhood and I wasn't disturbed the slightest when the predators tore up their prey and despite being an omnivore I felt immensely fascinated and attracted by animals. Now that I've watched so much on the subject of veganism I can't help but flinch when I see the harsh side of nature and this makes me feel negative about those particular animals which once again turns me into a speciecist... I can't help but see those actions as cruel and I know it is just their way of survival and I have absolutely no idea why things don't feel the same way again, I nitpick and overthink these subjects and it's like I cannot feel well neither as an omnivore, nor as a vegan (because it makes me think weirdly and creates a nonexisting conflict in my head and not because I miss animal products) . As I said I was expecting to feel even more compassionate by shifting to veganism and yet I turned into a weirdo who judges other animals because of their predatory nature (which is something people opposing veganism point out!).