A Plea: Please don't make your thread titles vague

Amy SF

Dweller in nature
Supporter
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegetarian
Maybe it's because of my time as a mod on the "other board", but vague thread titles really bother me. For example, when your thread only says PLEASE HELP ME!, it doesn't tell me what the thread is actually about. It could be about anything. And I'm sure I'm not the only one on the board who doesn't take the extra minute to see which forum the thread is posted in. Clarifying what your thread is about in the title would be a big help. Let's say you're asking for help in choosing which perennials to plant, and I know I can't help you because I have no experience in that area. I won't have to open the thread if you mention that in the title. If you post a vague thread title and you realize you need to edit it, you have that ability. Just look on the screen in the upper right corner where it says thread tools. In the drop down menu, select edit title.

Thank you! :)

If people see vague thread titles, you can also report them (there's a button that says report underneath each post) and the mods will change them to something clear. If they're not reported, I for one am unlikely to notice. :)

Last edited:
Reactions: KLS52 and Amy SF
yes, the 'please help' one always pops out at me, and I wonder if I can help, and then I realise it is just that thread.

Reactions: Amy SF
Personally, I don't mind them. It piques my curiosity. :D I can see how it can be annoying though.

Last edited:
Reactions: Poppy
Yea, I do the same. Every time I see a vague thread title, my first thought is "is this some kind of a trick to draw me in"

Some people do that a lot on some forums.

They cut titles short on my local news paper site, and sometimes I just have to know how the sentence ends....I think that's called click baiting...